How to watch NASA’s first space tourism launch to the ISS

NASA is about to embark on its first space tourism mission to the International Space Station (ISS), and you can watch the entire event as it happens.

Organized by Texas-based Axiom Space and using SpaceX hardware, the 10-day mission will launch from Kennedy Space Center in Florida at lunchtime on Friday, April 8.

The crew includes Canadian investor and philanthropist Mark Pathy, American entrepreneur Larry Connor and former Israeli Air Force pilot Eytan Stibbe, as well as mission commander and former NASA astronaut Michael López -Alegria.

Pathy, Connor and Stibbe reportedly paid an incredible $55 million for the trip of a lifetime.

Crew members have undergone months of intensive training for the Ax-1 mission and will spend their time in orbit conducting scientific research as well as outreach and business activities.

What to expect

Multiple cameras will broadcast Friday’s events live at the launch site. Astronauts are likely to travel to the Crew Dragon capsule, take their seats and make final preparations for the all-important launch that will see SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket blast the capsule and crew to the ISS.

The Crew Dragon spacecraft will arrive at the space station early Saturday, April 9.

How to watch

The Ax-1 mission will launch from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 11:17 a.m. ET (8:17 a.m. PT) on Friday, April 8.

You can watch the events by launching the embedded video player at the top of this page, or by visiting The SpaceX live stream, which will carry the same content. The broadcast will begin around 7:45 a.m. ET (4:45 a.m. PT).

Schedule changes may occur due to bad weather conditions or last-minute technical issues. Check NASA’s Twitter feed for the latest updates.

Docking with the ISS is expected to take place around 6:45 a.m. ET (3:45 a.m. PT) on Saturday, April 9. first time.

To get you in the mood for the Ax-1 launch, watch NASA’s recently released cinematic trailer for the upcoming mission.

Editors’ Recommendations






Comments are closed.